Aran Islands

The Aran Islands (Irish: Oileáin Árann—pronunciation: [əˈlʲɑːnʲ ˈɑːɾən]) or The Arans (na hÁrainneacha—[nə ˈhɑːɾənʲəxə]) are a group of three islands located at the mouth of Galway Bay, on the west coast of Ireland, with a total area around 46 km2 (18 sq mi). They constitute the barony of Aran in County Galway, Ireland.
From west to east, the islands are: Inishmore (Árainn Mhór/Inis Mór—[ˈɑːɾənʲ woːɾ] or [ˈɪnʲɪʃ moːɾ]), the largest; Inishmaan (Inis Meáin/Inis Meadhóin—[ˈɪnʲɪʃ mʲɑːnʲ]), the second-largest; and Inisheer (Inis Thiar/Inis Oírr/Inis Oirthir—[ˈɪnʲɪʃ hiəɾ / iːɾʲ / ˈɛɾʲhɪɾʲ]), the smallest.
The 1,200 inhabitants primarily speak Irish, the language used in local placenames. All islanders are also fluent or proficient in English. The islands belong to the Gaeltacht.

Practical Information

  • Country

    🇮🇪 Ireland
  • Languages

    English, Irish
  • Currency

    Euro – EUR – €
  • Calling Codes

More Information about Ireland

Plan your trip to Aran Islands with Pilgrimist. Save your favourite places from Aran Islands, keep them organised and collaborate with friends.